Happiness is……not having teeth pulled out!

A not so happy start to my day began with an unexpected wisdom tooth extraction this morning.  I took Keira with me as an introductory visit to the dentist and she was fine and had fun playing computer games on the Accountants desk, whilst I on the other hand was going through severe upheaval.  One tooth had to be filled and the wisdom tooth had to be pulled afterwards, so she was there for most of the procedure, until the extraction.

It definitely would have scared her from ever visiting the dentist again after witnessing the yanking and pulling, blood and strange grunts I was making.  It wasn’t sore, (thank you big fat anesthetic injections) but it was so uncomfortable because it was so far back, he was struggling to reach it and had to pull and stretch my mouth into horrific contortions.  With these clamp things and a vacuum in my mouth plus at least 4 large fingers it was just overcrowded and unpleasant.  Anyway I don’t consider my self very squirmish and I’m hardly ever nervous so I think I handled it all pretty well and he seemed impressed with my level of composure throughout.

However, 2 hours on and the injection is starting wear off.  He warned my jaw and surrounding muscles would be sore and slowly the pain is creeping in.  But I am a little odd when it comes to pain and I like to see how much I can bear.  I had debated taking painkillers just as I was started to have feeling back in the area, but as usual I have kept putting it off.

Only now has it dawned on me that for some stupid reason, which I must secretly like, I always do this.  I am not known for popping a headache pill until desperate.  I could have learnt the second time around and taken the epidural but I wanted to feel the pain again.  Now I am setting myself a challenge of seeing how long before I take something to lose the dull ache in my jaw, ear and mouth that is now slowly turning into a more acute pain.  I ask myself what am I trying to prove because most of the time I don’t even realise that I am putting it off, I am just simply putting up with it.

Anyway high pain threshold or not, I have just had something ripped out of my body so I should be wise, oh wait, they took the wise part out so now what?

Well now is about the time I give in, take some paracetemol and go rest.

So I know it’s not the happiest blog I am actually going to write this month, but everyone has a down day right.  It’s not down there, it’s just there, unlike my tooth.  If there is one thing you should remember from all of this here it is:

Sucrose or table sugar as we know it sits on your teeth after consumption and it produces acids that lead to tooth decay.  Either you must limit WHEN you eat sugar – with meals 3 times a day is fine but nothing sweet in between, or do your research into Xylitol and other sweeteners to use in between meals.

Sweet dreams….

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

