No small measures

Like many other women out there, I don’t think I am alone when it comes to trying to take on so many things at once.  Maybe it’s the desire to prove the ultimate multi-tasking abilities, or maybe it’s because we don’t like to do things in small measures, just because we are the smaller gender.

When I had my kids, for example, that was done in no small measure.  My daughter was only 6 weeks old when I fell pregnant with my son.  I was barely getting used to having one baby and the next was on his way.  It was not planned that way but we handled it well and I wouldn’t have it any other way now.  Although we could skip the pregnant for nearly two years part.

Now that they are getting a bit older, and have just started playgroup, I have time to do a few more other things that interest me, but instead of just doing one, I am doing them all.  In between the school runs, I am setting up a new business, attending modelling castings, blogging and social networking. On top of this I am about to start planning my wedding, which is in three months time I might add.

Yet somehow it’s not too overwhelming.  If you enjoy being kept on your toes then you embrace things as they happen instead of shrugging them off only to think later, what if?  So even though there are late nights, long days and tedious tasks to deal with in between, somehow it’s all worth it when you see results from the hard work and effort you put in.  If you can pursue everything that interests and inspires you and still keep your partner and kids happy, healthy and content then why not have the best of it all.

Leave a Reply

